About Us

About the Bride

I was born in Chennai, India and raised in Raleigh, NC.  I lived there for about 18 years before moving up to DC.  Obviously, a lot has happened over that time – I graduated from NCSU, worked at Duke, got my own apartment, and went to grad school…pretty much grew up.  But I learned a few very important things about myself along the way:
- Hiking is one of my favorite activities
- I can survive living in a glorified window for 3 years, as long as I
have good roommates (and I’ve been lucky enough to have
great ones)
- I love my career (bridging the gap between science and policy)
- Audrey Hepburn and Meryl Streep will forever be my idols
- I don’t think i’ll ever get tired of watching the TV show ‘Friends’

About the Groom

I was born in Raleigh, NC, and grew up playing a lot of basketball and soccer. I attended the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill and graduated with a B.A. in Journalism and Mass Communication (with a focus on advertising). I’ve been fortunate to work for some great marketing agencies and startup companies since college. I currently work at LivingSocial on our New Business Initiatives team, focusing on social technologies and analytics. Here are some more details about me:
- I love the beach for relaxing and surfing and the mountains for
hiking and snowboarding
- Grilling is the best form of cooking
- I can watch basketball for hours and not get bored
- I love figuring out how social technologies can connect people
- I volunteer with DC’s Social Media Club as VP of Digital Content
and Community

How We Met

Our mutual love of country music led us to a little place in Downtown Raleigh called City Limits, where we had a brief introduction.  A few days later, we went out for ice cream (Ben and Jerry’s will forever hold a special place in our hearts).  Sneha worked at Duke after graduation but quickly realized that she missed school.  Wanting to see more than what she had grown up with in Raleigh, she decided to go to grad school in Washington, DC.  When she told Jason about her decision, his response both surprised and thrilled her – “DC is only about four hours away”.  Jason knew that he wanted to be with her and moved up to DC shortly after.  Sneha was making fast friends at Grad school, who were only too thrilled to finally meet Jason.  And living in a house with 3 other guys, and later, his brother, David, Jason found that DC is filled with Carolina graduates and started to feel more at home.  Between DC and NC, we’ve been fortunate enough to have an amazing network of friends and family!

Comments are closed.